Homage to old-school gaming on Community tonight

Cult favorite TV sitcom Community is renowned for doing stylized and spoof episodes based on all kinds of popular culture and tonight's three-part season finale is no exception. The first episode of the night, Digital Estate Planning, will have an old-school gaming segment which sees the Greendale 7 take sprite form. IGN's Youtube page has a preview clip of the episode, which is available after the jump.

Jeff Winger, self-proclaimed "leader" of the Greendale 7 group, moves an awful lot like a character in classic Mega Man games. He has the run and jump, though the slide seems to be from none other than Shadow Man. That's obviously the least of the homage content in the clip and likely the tip of the iceberg for the entire episode. Can you name all of the others?

This episode of Community airs tonight, May 17th, on NBC at 8PM EDT/PDT, 7PM CDT in USA and on CityTV at 8PM in Canada.

Tonight is also a special season finale event which sees two more episodes of Community starting at 9PM EDT/PDT, 8PM CDT in USA. CityTV has not confirmed airing the two additional episodes in Canada.

Sources: IGN Youtube, Capcom-Unity